Too old 2003-03-27 .
then / after

It would have been nice to have had them think of me for a change. I like to think I'm not a materialistic person, but when I think about why I'm upset, I can't help thinking that I am. This has been one of my worst weeks ever, and it's not even over. You would think that if it were someone's birthday you would buy them something they can appreciate, not something they told you they didn't want after you asked them if they wanted it. Especially if the person is your daughter. I can understand giving someone you don't know very well a present that's kind of pointless, we've all done that, but your own parents? It's not just this year either, almost every birthday I can remember have paled in comparison to my brothers gifts. He got trips to Paris and Malaysia, I got an electric toothbrust and photo album kit. It pisses me off to no end that they don't consider how I would feel. It's not that I want an expensive gift, when they asked me what I wanted for my birthday I told them I wasn't going to tell them because it was too expensive, because I was going to buy it myself. But of all the things they asked me what I wanted, they got me the thing I said I didn't want. I don't want what my brother got, but it would have been nice if they had considered what I had told them just a little bit. There are a million other things they could have gotten me, or MADE for me, like last year I asked for my mom to paint me something and she made a huge painting of Buddha for me, which was very cool. So then why is it they can not care about what I had asked them *not* to do?

I hate birthdays.

|

then / after