Civilized 2001-01-24 .
then / after

My latest craze are The Wild Strawberries. You know when you get a tune in your head and you just can't get rid of it, and you don't want to get rid of it? I've had Life sized Marilyn Monroe and Crying Shame in my head all day.
I came home after school and haven't stopped listening to those two songs since. They're infectious. Thank goodness for not having thrown out my old cds from highschool. I've been going back to a lot of that music, thankfully not the rap. Not that I don't like rap, I do listen to and enjoy some hip-hop stuff, but I was kinda into Canadian rap...like Devon, and Maestro Fresh-Wes. Yeah, I was hardcore baby.

I'm like a walking, talking poster-girl for the true face of what pop-culture is. Latching onto a new wave when it's popular, then changing my interests when something new comes around. Advertisers of the world unite, and rejoice that your tactics have worked! Though I am ecstatic to proclaim that I do not own a single New Kids On The Block, Backstreet Boys, N'Sync, 98 Degrees, or any other boy-band tape/cd. So maybe I'm not a totally lost cause.

I couldn't think of anything to write for this entry, and I was told to write an entry about self-esteem, but I have nothing to write about it. Lack of it? Too much? Not enough? It's hard to write about it when people refuse to ever have serious discussions with me. It's like they're boring to all my friends, or they're wrorried about the need to be politically correct so they just talk about the new Backstreet Boys cd they got. Feh.

Some days I think it's just better to take a step back from it all, and just re-think why I'm around some people. But if I write that, then toes get stepped on, friends get slighted. Bad entry! Bad bad bad! Heaven forbid I should offend anyone :P

My dad got another job offer in Thailand again. I think it would be good if we went there. I think they need to be away from my brother, I think we all need to be. I'm sure some people would think that's a horrible thing to say, but then again, they don't know my brother. He makes over 30 grand a year, but I'm the one who had to pay for the Chinese take-out yesterday, and give him taxi money in the morning or else he'd be late for work (and very angry), there goes that GST cheque.
I also miss travelling. I want to go to Japan and teach English this summer, I also want to go on a road trip across Canada. Ideally, my travelling companions would be Nicole, Lisa (H), Lisa (W), and Letitia. But I don't know how well that would go down with some people, or else I'll be making two road-trips. Not that that's a bad thing :)

I want a night where the drinks don't stop flowing, the purple haze never lifts, and mind-shattering epiphanies are all that are talked about until dawn breaks.

|

then / after