Vermicelli 2003-02-17 .
then / after

I had an interesting day with a friend yesterday. She's concerned that I'm allowing myself to miss out on life so that I can please others that are around me, namely those that I live with. I don't kow if I'm so much trying to make sure that they're pleased with me, as I am so much trying to keep my own sanity. She says that I'm not aggressive enough and that I let too many people walk all over me, but I don't always feel like I'm being walked *on*. Not all the time, sometimes. But I don't believe those few times warrent me having a more aggressive demeanor. If it were an everyday occurrance, maybe. Although, if she, someone who has known me for over 15 years thinks that I'm gullible, what do others think? I never thought of myself as gullible, or stupid. In my mind, those two words go hand in hand. Passive, yes. Aggressive? Only when I felt it was necessary. From my experiences, I've learned that being passive helps when you have an "agressor" that is trying every which way to make you think like them. Not everyone is willing to change or *listen* to new ideas, and sometimes it's just easier to just let people think the way that they want rather than confront them about it. It doesn't work in every situation, but it's worked for me in the past in some of mine. I just enver thought that made people think I was stupid.

|

then / after