Grown weary 2003-08-11 .
then / after

I am a magnet. Not a good magnet for things like puppies, flowers, and normal boys. No. I attract pouncing cats, and scary men (and once, a woman).

I'm outside the movie theatre waiting for my friend so we can go see Finding Nemo, and this guy comes up to me and asks if I have any paper to roll a joint with. Now, I have nothing against the leafy green goodness, I've done it myself from time to time. I just don't happen to think it's appropriate to approach a total stranger asking if they can help you roll their illegal substances. Then there have been the 3 men, to date, that have asked me either where the erotica section is at work. Once while I was talking to my mother. My own mother! How would you like it if I, a stranger, walked up to you and your MOTHER, and asked about erotica-related books? Maybe I was just raised in a more conseravative than is normal household, but that's another thing that strikes me as wildly inappropriate. My mom tried to pretend the "incident" never happend, and has since never asked me how my day at work has been. I think she thinks her only daughter is being corrupted by the outrageously Liberal Canadians. Then there was the time I was setting up a display for Valentine's Day, and there were some sex-related board games that I had to put on a table, and this man, probably in his fifties, asked me if I ever played them. Bleh. Stuff like this just makes me shudder. I have no problem talking about sex-related topics, but I do so with people I already know. Not strangers.

Maryam and I had another "encounter". Much worse than the last time in Toronto. A lot of the time I'm pretty good with my reaction towards the stuff she says about me, but I don't know...this last time..something inside of me just snapped. It's not that I don't feel that she isn't a good friend. She's the best-friend anyone could ask for. Just..she makes me feel bad about myself, and that's something she's been making me feel more often the last few years. I don't know if I have it in me to end a friendship like ours, but on the other hand, I don't even know if she would really care that much. Both Gulvinder and Shelly have told me that Myr's done the same thing to them, I don't know why it's been affecting me more than it has them, because this is really just a recent thing. Also, I've known her for longer than they have, so shouldn't I be more used to it? Friendships aren't supposed to make you feel bad about yourself. You don't always have to agree about everything, you can even be as honest and blunt as you want to the other person. They shouldn't make you feel rotten about yourself.

|

then / after