lenses 2003-04-05 .
then / after

I hate cd holders. I always knew there was a reason I hated them, and now I know why. I had bought one oh....about a year ago, and I thought, happily, that I can now have almost all my cds in reaching distance when I'm driving and not worry about cases and discs scratching. But I do a lot of things out of convenience. On the times I am not the driver in my car, I used to keep the cd case in the door pocket of the passenger side. And me being me, the case was stuffed to capacity and beyond because I have/had a lot of cds. At some point though, I lost track of the cd case, and after a year of searching I've finally given in to the fact that it must have fallen out of the door pocket at some point when I opened it and I just never really noticed. That's over 30 cds lost, 25 of which were original cds, 5 of which were British imports that I actually had to have people in London send me because HMV couldn't order them.

Which brings me to another rant...Am I expected to shell out possibly five hundred dollars to rebuild my cd collection that I gathered from about the age of 15? Actually it would be more than five hundred I think..twenty bucks a pop..add tax..so let's err on the side of caution and say twenty-five dollars. *whips out the mental calculator* I had over 30 cds in there..so nearly eight hundred dollars. Eight hundred dollars!! To listen to cds I used to own! That's ridiculous! I sure hope Metallica is going to pay for these cds, because there sure isn't any way I can shell out that kind of cash any time soon. In that whole year between me losing my cd case and now, I bought a total of 2 cds, Travis - The Man Who, and MC Solaar - Cinquieme As (Baby Love the best track on that cd as far as I'm concerned). As much as I love music, I would really, truly, love to support the artists that I think deserve support. Frankly the music lately hasn't been that good. I mean, there are only so many remixes that Justin and Nelly can do, or Nelly and Kelly...or Justin and Kylie..it's like listening to bad Jpop...one song over and over and over again, I'm sure those infinite monkeys could come up with better and more meaningful songs...oh wait..they did! It's called extended remixes!! Same crappy song, only twice as long! It's bad enough that no good bands come into my town, it's worse when the local radio stations have to shove useless tripe down our throats. Granted some of it is catchy, for a while, then it wears out its welcome like [insert various stinky items here].

I went out last night with Myr and Shelly. It was a pretty good time up until we decided to go to China Town. I don't often drink, and I think I felt like I had to drink fast because we were trying to get out of the bar fast. Well...maybe not..I think I was just a little too eager to drink after being the designated driver (voluntarily) for so many years :P Oh well..it wasn't that bad :P

|

then / after