In memoriam 2003-09-11 .
then / after

I was working for a real estate agent. I was there by 8, and by 9, we had all thought it was just a small prop-plane that had crashed into the building. By noon, we were all glued to the radio. My dad picked me up and instead of taking me to my class I went home and turned on CNN, and for the first time in my life I started watching it with interest. I remember being shocked, just watching the images unfold in front of me without really listening to what was being said. Then something inside of me snapped, actually it was more like a little aggravated switch being turned on. Not with the people that this affected. But with how it was treated. As if this were the first tragic even that had ever happend in the world. I watched with anger that someone, somewhere, thought that this had been a good idea. I wish they could have watched the families holding up pictures of their loved ones, talking about them, wanting to hear from them. Hoping that they had been anywhere but where they were thought to be. It was through a television set, but all you had to do was look in their eyes, and you could see that they knew in their hearts what the reality of it all was. What makes this tragedy more important over all the others in the past? It doesn't. None of them should have ever happend, and this shouldn't have happend either. All I can hope for is that at the end of it all, it will end. The tempers need to cease flaring, and acceptance needs to start. Acceptance, and tolerance of racial, religous, and political differences. Different cultures and countries may not have the same views on some things, but there needs to be a voice of reason that soothes the arguments before they turn into this again, for anyone, in any country. How could have ever been a good idea...

There's battle lines being drawn
Nobody's right if everybody's wrong
Young people speaking their minds
Getting so much resistance from behind
-- Buffalo Springfield

|

then / after