Catatonic 2001-01-30 .
then / after

So we had to bring a song into class today. Any song that we wanted, and we'd get to play it and talk about it. All in all the stuff brought in was pretty good, except for the guy who played Wu Tang :P. He's a pretty cool guy, but I think all of us wished he'd picked a different song :). I was stressing over what song I would play though, in the past when I've made friends listen to my favourite songs, it's never been received well, I'd look at their faces and they look like they're suffering. Although, these are also the same people who buy Backstreet Boys, N'Sync, and Britney Spears cds, and go to their concerts. I was severely paranoid about what these (almost) complete strangers would think if I played a song by The Beautiful South, or Paul Weller, I thought they'd complain about it being really weird. So here's a perfect time to give you a glimpse of how neurotic I am:

I took all the songs in my MP3 file (over 1,100 songs) pulled them all into Winamp, and systematically cut out the songs that I definately did not want to put on the cd, and left the ones that were possibilities. And after many mistakes where I accidently closed winamp and lost the song list, I ended up with 17 tracks, and they are:

1- Re-educating Rita - Carter USM
2- #41 - Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds
3- Wish - Wild Strawberries
4- Too Much Of Heaven - Eiffel 65
5- Impressive Instant - Madonna
6- Talk Tonight - Paul Weller & Oasis
7- On The Roof Again - Eve6
8- Renegade Master - Fatboy Slim
9- The Only Living Boy In New Cross - Carter USM
10- Fly Me To The Moon - Nat King Cole
11- In Repair - Our Lady Peace
12- The Riddle - Gigi D'Agostino
13- To Sir, With Love - REM & Natalie Merchant
14- Bewitched, Bothere, And Bewildered - Ella Fitzgerald
15- I Did It - Dave Matthews Band
16- Moving On Up - M People
17- Please Stay - Kylie Minogue

I ended up playing Ella's Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered, and it went over quite well :). Originally I was going to play Talk Tonight, but I changed my mind at the last minute. Ella went over excellently with everyone, and I think with the exception of the two brothers at the back of the class, everyone was in a nice mellow groove after it, I know I was, and I know a few others were, even the Wu Tang boy was giving me a thumbs up, heh, he's such a riot. He and Pete sit next to each other across the room from Jocie and I, and always pretend to fondle each other (sometimes they really do) to make us laugh which gets us in trouble with our TA, but it's all good, they seem like nice guys.

In the process of finding a Carter song on Napster, I downloaded a song by Catatonia for the hell of it. I was looking for Carters' Road Rage, but came across a Catatonia song of the same title. I'd heard of them before, seen their names in articles and reviews on the NME website, but I'd never actually listened to them. So I downloaded it last night, and didn't listen to it until I got home this afternoon. It is AMAZING. It's got one of the most perfect tunes I've heard, it's not harsh, but it's not poppy either. Their singer also has one of those really unique kind of voices, and a really cool name to boot. Cerys, isn't that the best name? I keep thinking it's a Greek or Roman goddess, but I may be wrong. Anyways, she rolls her r's sometimes when she sings, and in Road Rage the effect is great. I wish I knew how to put up a link so people could download the song, because my descriptions don't give it justice, but I don't know how. *pout* But I can post the lyrics :)

If all you've got to do today, is find peace of mind.
Come round, you can take a piece of mine
And if all you've got to do today, is hesitate
Come here, you can leave it late with me
You could be takin' it easy on yourself
You should be makin' it easy on yourself
'Cos you and I know, it's all over the front page
You give me road rage
Racing to the best days
It's up to you boy, you're driving me crazy
Thinking you may be losing your mind

If all you've got to prove today, is your innocence
Calm down, you're as guilty as can be
But if all you've got to lose alludes to yesterday
Yesterday's through, now do anything you please
You could be takin' it easy on yourself
You should be makin' it easy on yourself
'Cos you and I know, it's all over the front page
You give me road rage
Racing through the best days
It's up to you boy, you're driving me crazy
Thinking you may be losing your mind
You're losing your mind
You, you've been racing to the best days
You, you've been racing to the best days
Space age, road rage, fast lane

And if all you've got to do today, is find peace of mind
Come here, you can take a piece of mine
You could be takin' it easy on yourself
You should be makin' it easy on yourself
'Cos you and I know it's all over the front page
You give me road rage
Racing through the best days
It's up to you boy, you're driving me crazy
Thinking you may be losing your mind
But you and I know, we all live in the space age
Comin' down with road rage
Racing to the best days
It's up to you boy, you're driving me crazy
Thinking you may be losing your mind
(It's not over, it's not over)

We all live in the space age
You give me road rage
Racing to the best days
It's up to you boy, you're driving me crazy
Thinking you may be losing your mind....you're losing your mind..

Catatonia, Road Rage.

I love it. This is not a song of the moment. This is one of those rare songs, and bands that come along that make me remember what I love about music.

|

then / after